Denver vs Minnesota State Live Stream| Frozen Four final 2022 Online


We go over the NCAA Men’s Hockey National Championship Game between the Pioneers and Mavericks on Thursday night.

The NCAA men’s ice hockey championship game is set with the Denver Pioneers taking on the Minnesota State Mavericks at TD Garden in Boston, Massachusetts on Saturday night at 8 p.m. ET. The Pioneers were able to take down mighty Michigan in overtime in the semifinal game on Thursday night 3-2. Minnesota State easily took down in-state rival Minnesota 5-1 in the later game that night.

No. 1 Denver vs. No. 1 Minnesota State

Game time: 8:00 p.m. ET
TV channel: ESPN2
Live stream: Watch ESPN app and ESPN+

The game is broadcast on ESPN2 again on Saturday night. Really, the only other sport going on right now is baseball with MLB Opening Day earlier in the week on Thursday. There are NBA games but the playoff field is basically set for that. The matchup isn’t as appealing without the star power on Michigan, but these are still two very talented teams.

Mavericks G Dryden McKay only had to make 16 saves against Minnesota on Thursday night to pick up the win. He’s had a pretty remarkable season and will be an interesting undrafted free agent signing this offseason for NHL teams.

Denver blew a one-goal lead in the third period but was able to hold on for the 3-2 win in overtime to take down the Wolverines. The Pioneers were able to hold the powerhouse trio of Luke Hughes, Matty Beniers and Owen Power to no points in the contest. If Denver can keep up that type of defensive play, we could see a low-scoring contest in the final given McKay and the Mavericks.

How to watch the Denver vs. Minnesota State national championship?

Frozen Four TV schedule

The Denver-Minnesota State game will air live on ESPN2. 

Canadian viewers can watch the game on or through the TSN app. 

Who are the past champions of the NCAA Frozen Four?

A number of programs have earned their first NCAA title over the past decade. 

UMass, Union, Yale and Providence have won their first championship in the last 10 years. Go back another year, and Minnesota-Duluth earned its first national title in 2011. The Bulldogs later went back-to-back in 2018 and 2019. 

On the flip side, Denver and North Dakota recently added their eighth title to their program histories. North Dakota came out on top in 2016, followed by Denver winning in 2017. 

Here are all the Frozen Four tournament winners over the past 10 years:

  • 2021: UMass
  • 2020: Tournament canceled because of COVID-19
  • 2019: Minnesota Duluth
  • 2018: Minnesota Duluth
  • 2017: Denver
  • 2016: North Dakota
  • 2015: Providence
  • 2014: Union
  • 2013: Yale
  • 2012: Boston College

Who has won the most NCAA Frozen Fours?

Michigan has the most NCAA Division I men’s college hockey championships, with nine. Its last one came in 1998. 

Denver and North Dakota have eight each. The Pioneers can pull into a tie with Michigan in 2022.

Wisconsin has six and Boston College, Boston University and Minnesota have five each. The Golden Gophers are aiming to pull into a tie for fourth on the list. 

Minnesota State has never won a national championship. 

Here is a look at all the past winners and how many times programs have won. 

Now Reading Denver vs Minnesota State Live Stream| Frozen Four final 2022 Online